Home : Inspirational Writings
 » The Two Levels of Practice

The Two Levels of Practice

from Reflections by No Ajahn Chah

There are two levels of practice. The first level forms the foundation, which is the development of virtue, the precepts, in order to bring happiness and harmony among people. The second level is the practice of Dhamma with the sole goal of liberating the heart. This liberation is the source of wisdom and compassion and is the true reason for the Buddha's teaching. Understanding these two levels is the basis of true practice.





back   back  
Last modified: July 11, 2004
Produced by ZATMA